Finding peace in the noise: Urban Dharma in Science of Mind

It was when my swimming pool went out of commission for repairs for a few months, 5 years ago, that I realized my daily exercise was meditative as well as good for my physical body.  

Suddenly, I felt addled, and I went online in search of meditation podcasts.  I found Urban Dharma–a series of talks and meditations by Rev. Kusala Bhikshu at the International Buddhist Meditation Center.

Which happened to be located in Koreatown, just a few miles from where I live.  So, after devouring a dozen or so of the podcasts, I went to pay my respects.  

ImageAnd I’ve been going back ever since to talk to and study with Rev. Kusala.  He’s become a good friend, and I’ve seen him speak in a number of venues–often in churches, where he’s asked to explain Buddhism.  Often he punctuates his talks with his harmonica or ukulele.

So when Science of Mind magazine asked me to write about him, I was delighted to share a bit of this monk’s story.

The only trouble is…it’s not published online.  Email me if you’d like to see the article.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Finding peace in the noise: Urban Dharma in Science of Mind

  1. vidlit says:

    I want to see the article. I can buy a copy but I can’t find it –so far. Send info.

    Liz

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

