Past Lives, and how N.C. resembles Bhutan

The man in the audience at Malaprop’s Bookstore in Asheville, NC looked familiar, but it was only as I kept speaking and seeing the eager young woman next to him react to what I was saying that I realized they were my long lost friends. The young woman was Mark’s daughter, now 21-she was probably 5 the last time I saw her. Years ago I’d helped Mark with a documentary he was making and spend countless trips to his cabin in the woods with our mutual friends. I immediately thought about hiking with them and how much the mountains of North Carolina and the whole feel here reminds me of Bhutan.

Leave a Reply

