Thunder Dragon Peppers, or, the Bhutanese chiles that hitchhiked into California.

As I cobble together a video about the spicy hotness of Bhutanese food, I have discovered that right here in the LA area, there are Bhutanese peppers growing. Aren’t they pretty?

“Kenneth” tells me they “hitch hiked” into the country in his shirt pocket last fall. He explained how it happened on the condition that I not reveal his full identity or whereabouts, for fear that perhaps he might get busted (or robbed!)

“A Bhutanese farmer gave me one to try with my supper, I put it into my jacket pocket, and promptly forgot about it till I had to wear the jacket in a cold Californian January this year. Since I still had not tasted the pepper I decided to germinate the seeds, and ‘Hey Presto’ they grew.”

Hardy buggers, huh? “Kenneth” is quite the farmer. I imagine they are as killer on the gut as they’d be in the Kingdom; however, I am not waiting for an invitation to test them out to see if my theory is correct.

One thought on “Thunder Dragon Peppers, or, the Bhutanese chiles that hitchhiked into California.

  1. BridgeToBhutan says:

    Hahahaa… Just ran into this piece at Yahoo news: World’s hottest pepper ! http://news.yahoo.com/s/yblog_thelookout/20101203/sc_yblog_thelookout/worlds-hottest-pepper-is-hot-enough-to-strip-paint

Leave a Reply

