Stressed out/De-stressor

Today I met the most inspirational person, and while on the face of it, the subjects at hand may seem quite unrelated to happiness, they are, in fact, essential to it. For it was through war and great pain and trauma that Mark Dust was led to meditation and somatic healing and the study of the parasympathetic nerve, and thus has decided to dedicate his life to helping other Iraqi war veterans heal through this not-very-conventional ( by the military standard ) means. Mark maintains a blog about the subject of trauma, and PTSD.

On a related but vastly different note, I myself have been feeling code red stress lately, unlike I’ve felt in the longest time. So I found myself darting over to the Dongguk College of Medicine yesterday for acupuncture, which I haven’t had in years. It’s free on Mondays, but I was desperate, and I figured I couldn’t afford not to go. Within minutes of arriving, I was being attended by four doctors of Chinese medicine at various stages of their training (one quite experienced, another quite new, two in between.) The place was warm and inviting and the very act of going there, much less talking about how I was feeling to sympathetic, trained souls, calmed me down.
Oriental Medical Center
So when Mark Dust said to me out of the blue this morning that western medicine screws up by not treating the whole body, I knew what he meant, well.

One thought on “Stressed out/De-stressor

  1. Mark Dust says:

    Hi Lisa,

    Thank you for the kind words. I’m looking forward to speaking with you at length in the near future.

    Warmest regards,

    Mark

Leave a Reply

