Madness at Paro, Bhutan airport

Having never been to Bhutan as a tourist or during tourist season, I am shocked as I sit here availing myself of the free wi-fi by the volume of ‘chillips’ here. And the number of flights! Typically there’s only one a day, but today there are four, and thankfully despite the fog they appear to be moving.

I suppose it’s a good sign that even if the economy stinks, there are people willing to spend so much money to come here. But there’s always something unsettling about tourists, in any country. I know, I know, the economy here is built on this industry.

I just feel lucky I’ve been able to travel here thanks to my work and now my friends.

I am also debating whether to turn the $15 in cash I just exchanged into a bottle of K5 Whiskey. Of course I have to, no?

2 thoughts on “Madness at Paro, Bhutan airport

  1. Bill Weller says:

    The mini-bottle could have been one of the “Three Good Things.” Of course, 3 mini-bottles would have completed it.

  2. Penny says:

    Or you could take the money and buy some of the lovely, absolutely fake Tibetan souvenirs which are for sale right there or right outside the door. prayer wheel, anyone?

Leave a Reply

